Offer Vertical: Sweepstakes
Payout: $24, Multiple
GEO: France, Multiple
Affiliate Network: Clickdealer
Traffic Network: Adsterra
Traffic Type: POP/PPV
Tracker: Binom (Get First Month FREE & Second at 40% Off)
This is a big one, folks. Originally, I was just going to release this as a CPA-only case study, since you could definitely make good profits using that pricing strategy alone. However, I figured that I would be doing a disservice to my readers and premium members without disclosing the actual detailed money-making strategy behind the power of CPA.
So, without further ado…
Here is one (1) sneaky way of breaking into profits with a CPA pricing model…
We will be using Adsterra as our traffic source since it’s one of the few remaining traffic sources that allow this type of pricing model. If you don’t have an account, make sure to sign up here. (Not affiliated). Minimum deposits start at $500.
What is a CPA pricing model?
The CPA pricing model is Cost-Per-Action, where you pay only for conversions. (Leads, CC-Submits, Downloads, etc…).
Once submitted and approved, your campaign will run for a test period that is funded from the maximum test budget indicated during that campaign creation. The actual test budget spent is calculated according to the volume of traffic received during the campaign test. It could be the exact budget you set or it could be less, but it will never spend more. I normally set my test budget to $50 with the expectation that it will be spent, which may or may not turn out to be the case.
Originally, I’ve discovered this method on a different traffic source, PropellerAds, but they have since disabled the feature and replaced it with their CPA 2.0 model (Works similar to AdCash’s CPA Goal).
Another network worth mentioning that has the same pricing model is Advertizer. As a matter of fact, they do not charge for the testing budget, only the conversions.
What’s the difference between CPA and CPM campaigns?
The СPM pricing model is Cost-Per-Mile, meaning that you pay for each mile (1000) impressions. So, regardless if there are conversions, you will keep paying a set price for every 1000 impressions until you pause that campaign.
Key Ingredients for CPA
1. Your offers (both SOI and CC-Submit) absolutely HAVE TO work. This is not a strategy to finding a converting offer.
2. Your landing pages are Tested and Proven. Saying that I attribute a lot of my new “winning” discoveries to a CPA pricing model. So after the initial “testing phase”, I would dedicate a certain percentage of traffic to test new landing pages.
3. Competitive Payout. Normally, I set it at about 80% of my affiliate networks payout. For example, if I have a $10 offer, I will set the CPA to $8. Then I will earn $2 for each conversion, and the traffic source will get $8. Try not to be greedy here or you will get little to no traffic!
Now that we have covered the basics, let’s get into the nitty-gritty details of how we gonna make a boatload of money using CPA pricing model to our advantage.
Here are the simplified steps of running a campaign like that:
- Launch the SOI offer campaign(s) using the CPA pricing model, setting a very competitive payout. (Do not be afraid to break even or even take on a slight loss.).
- Now, relax and let those campaigns run for a few weeks collecting data and self-optimizing. Once there is enough data, breakdown the campaign by placements (aka zones, siteids), extracting profitable ones based on specific criteria (described in-depth below).
- Launch Whitelist CPM campaign using the placements from CPA campaign(s). Instead, this time, sub your SOI offer (low payout) with a CC-Submit (high payout).
- Run, collecting mad profits and cutting placements over time that do not perform well.
- Rinse and repeat on other GEOs, traffic types (Mainstream/Non-Mainstream) and devices (Desktop, Mobile, Tablet).
This is just one of the many strategies I have successfully used over the years to generate money, specifically utilizing CPA pricing model. It can be applied to virtually any GEO or Vertical.
For this campaign, I targeted Desktop Adult traffic (labeled as Non-mainstream in Adsterra interface), but the same concept can be (and should be) applied to other combinations of campaign types. (Mainsteram-Mobile, Mainstream-Desktop, Non-Mainstream-mobile etc).
GEOs, Offers and Landing Pages
I used 5 different campaigns, each with SOI offers to collect all the required data. GEO’s included Germany, Poland, Spain, Netherlands, and Portugal. The same landing page style was used for all 5 GEO’s (Obviously translated according to the corresponding language). I launched both mobile and desktop campaigns to collect more data (placements).
For the actual “money maker”, a very popular Sweepstake CC-Submit Offer in France was used. Most European countries are notorious for having great offers of that type. If you are unsure, make sure to reach out to your affiliate manager for the current list of high performing credit card submit offers.
Premium members can download the exact (already translated) landing page for the “money maker” campaign here:
Step 1 – Running SOI (CPA)
Tracker Settings for CPA SOI Campaign(s):
Traffic Source Settings for CPA SOI Campaign(s):
Shortly after the campaign launch and approval, the conversions should start rolling in. If you do not see any, then chances are there is something wrong with your postback setup.
As you can see from the screenshot, I could have technically just stopped here and kept collecting profits from CPA campaigns. But we are not in this to settle for mediocrity, are we?
Step 2 – Collecting Data and Cutting Placements
After 2 weeks of running these CPA campaigns, there is now more or less enough data that can be used in the next step. I cut placements based on the number of leads received, their EPC, as well as some landing page measurements.
Here is the exact filer criteria I used to extract placements for CC-Campaign in Binom.
Here is what it left me with in terms of placements. Once you get yours, copy and save them somewhere safe. This is absolutely key to finding success with POP traffic!
Now, its time to launch a CC-Submit campaign!
Step 3 – Running CC-Submit (CPM)
Tracker Settings for CPM CC-Submit Campaign:
Traffic Source Settings for CPM CC-Submit Campaign:
The steps to launching your “money-making” campaign are easy. Make sure to set the cost model to CPM (not CPA), bid between $2 – $3 (I set mine to $2.8 in this campaign). Do not forget to include placements collected from a CPA campaign as part of your whitelist!
Step 4 – Optimizing
Keep running the campaign while continuously cutting unprofitable placements. As a rule of thumb for CC-Submit campaigns, if a placement has generated over 8,000 – 10,000 impressions and had 0 conversions, remove it from your whitelist! The actual amount of money spent on that placement will vary from your CPM bid.
Alright, alright, I know that affiliates are lazy and if you decide to just rip a working campaign without going through the pains of testing, learning and optimizing, you absolutely can! Here is the final list of profitable placements for this campaign on Adsterra. This in itself, will make a Premium Members subscription worth its money!
As you can see from the screenshot below, not all placements from a CPA campaign were profitable on CPM. That’s why it is very important to continuously monitor and keep cutting placements with the strategy above. The newly launched campaign might be in the red for the first few days but it will eventually turn profitable.
Please, once you do make some good cash by ripping this campaign, please, spend it on actually going through all the steps above and learning how this strategy works, so you can modify it to your liking and apply the concepts elsewhere.
That’s easy. Take action. Sign up for Adsterra, make a deposit and start applying concepts explained in this case study.
You can do this for absolutely any GEO or traffic type. Have access to other sources with a CPA pricing model? Give them a try as well!
Go make some money!